#

Mezes serves many foods. Some can be identified as Gluten Free and others as Vegetarian (the topics of future blogs). We’re proud to also note that the extra virgin olive oil used as an ingredient and available for sale in the restaurant, Phileos, is Kosher, and from our home village of Laconia.

What is Kosher, you ask?

Well, Wikipedia says:

Kosher foods are those that conform to the regulations of kashrut (Jewish dietary law). Food that may be consumed according to halakha (Jewish law) is termed kosher (pronunciation: /koʊʃər/) in English, from the Ashkenazi pronunciation of the Hebrew term kashér (כָּשֵׁר, pronunciation: /kɑːʃɛər/), meaning "fit" (in this context, fit for consumption). Food that is not in accordance with Jewish law is called treif (Yiddish: טרײף‎, pronunciation: /treɪf/, derived from Hebrew: טְרֵפָה‎‎trāfáh) meaning "torn."

But what is Extra Virgin? Really, is it possible to be ‘extra’?

Sure, extra virgin olive oil “Phileos”, is simply the natural juice of the olive.

The extra virgin olive oil "Phileos" is the product of the varieties "Koroneiki" (75%) and "Athinolia" (25%) of Laconia, our home village.

This oil is produced on the day of harvest via the cold extraction method. The ideal climatologic conditions combined with the prosperous soil allow to the producers to follow the traditional techniques, while taking advantage of the modern methods of olives' cultivation. The result of the whole procedure is the production of an excellent quality product with mild fruity taste, golden green color and with particularly low acidity, below 0.5%. (according to bestgreekfood in Athens)

Phileos Extra Virgin Olive Oil is used as a marinade for our Kalamaki, in our housemade Greek Dressing, in our catered Cous, Cous and many other menu items. Stop in for a bite and take home a bottle.

Topics
Related Posts

Loading Conversation